Fear and Loathing on Mars

Fear and Loathing on Mars DrawingI created this for C&D Visions about the time the movie Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas was coming out. I love Hunter S. Thompson’s writing and I absolutely love the raw look of artists like Ralph Steadman and Ronald Searle. X-Files was also going very strong and alien conspiracies were still a hot topic.

C&D didn’t go for it, and in hindsight, it’s not too surprising. It was a great merger, but they may have been shy about treading on trademark territory.

However, I found out something really cool. I met Sean Dietrich at the LA sci fi and comic expo. Sean’s artwork is fantastic, and he’s done a few pieces dedicated to Thompson and Steadman. Sean sent samples to Steadman, who sent his blessing in return.

I love Ralph Steadman more and more every day.