Oh My God, You Drew South Park!

Wait! Before anyone sues. I can explain! Alternative drawing of Stan for Electric Inks So, one day, I’m talking with Kenny and Heathor from Electric Inks, and Kenny says something like, “Great news, we got the contract to do stickers and magnets for South Park!” I still didn’t know much about licensing at the time. I had images of Comedy Central paying Kenny and Heathor to create the merchandise for them, with Trey Parker and Matt Stone visiting their house, and everyone exchanging ideas.

Maybe Kenny and Heathor would drop by Trey and Matt’s house for a game of BASEketball.

Alternative drawing of Kyle for Electric Inks I immediately began drawing up alternative versions (I called it Goth, which in hindsight was off target) for the Hot Topic crowd, with Hot Topic being one of Electric Inks’ big buyers. Alternative drawing of Eric for Electric Inks Excitement was coursing through my veins, along with a big load of caffeine no doubt. I couldn’t wait to show them. Drawing the characters also gave me ideas for future episodes, which for the better part now, I’m keeping to myself. Alternative drawing of Kenny for Electric Inks Imagine my shock when Kenny put the brakes on this. While grateful, this stuff scared him silly. In hindsight, chances are Electric Inks paid Comedy Central for merchandising rights to make South Parks stickers, magnets, etc. Kenny explained to me that Comedy Central put draconian and humorless restrictions on not only what they could draw of South Park, but demanded in detail how the characters should look. Electric Inks had to actually run the artwork by Comedy Central for approval before going to press.

All this is pretty ironic considering these were simple characters originated in construction paper and later pieced together in the obsolete Corel drawing software. Makes me wonder how they animate it now.

So these little guys have been on the back burner for over 15 years, just waiting for someone to see them. Say hi guys!